Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Chad tutors in Weehawken, NJ

Chad L.

Private tutor in Weehawken, NJ

5Chad L.

4 reviews

Education

Lynchburg College - BA, English , Virginia Commonwealth University - MFA, Creative Writing

Experience

I love teaching so much that I traveled close to 5,000 miles to Szolnok, Hungary from my U.S. hometown for the very first teaching gig I ever did.Having been born and raised in Virginia and earning an undergraduate degree in English from Lynchburg College, I very much looked forward to traveling abroad in order to immerse myself in an entirely different culture. My reason for doing so was to teach English, and it was also a great way for me to kick off my teaching career.A decade after going abroad, I can look back and truly say that this experience-of-a-lifetime job opportunity was the beginning of a series of events that led to my goal of being a teacher as well as a lifelong learner. I have, since 2005, gone on to take jobs teaching English in countries like Hungary and Poland, and I've also taught in Manassas, Virginia, which happens to be my hometown.In terms of my specific expertise, I have instructed high school English and literature classes; I have taught ESL to professionals; and, in 2014, I taught Virginia Commonwealth University honors freshmen in the creative writing stream. Moreover, I tutored students at Virginia Commonwealth University's writing center and, in so doing, assisted them in preparing and editing essays for inclusion in their final portfolios.In addition to having an undergraduate degree in English, a master's in European studies, and a creative writing MFA, I also know how to take full advantage of my recreational downtime. For instance, I like to visit museums in New York on the weekends.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

5 miles at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Creative writing, reading, playing guitar

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!